VARP home page

Virginia Association of Railway Patrons

Modern Transportation for the Virginias

VARP 2005 Meeting

Rosslyn, Virginia

April 2


Jennifer Straub, deputy chief executive officer of Virginia Railway Express, addressed the question “Where is VRE today?” (She gave an interesting slide show with the lights off, so we didn’t take any pictures of her.) Stewart SchwartzStewart Schwartz, Executive Director of the Coalition for Smarter Growth, discussed the synergistic benefits of transit-oriented development in the Washington, DC, region and other parts of Virginia, as well as the Blueprint for a Better Region and Reconnecting Virginia.
Kevin MooreKevin Moore, incorporating director of Metro Riders, talked about issues affecting patrons of the Washington Metro system. Alia AndersonAlia Anderson, executive director of the Alliance for Community Choice in Transportation, Charlottesville, talked about the group’s efforts, especially the West Main Street trolley project.

The annual business meeting and a board meeting followed the last presentation.

VARP members elected the following directors: Allan Carpenter, George Billmyer, Jim Churchill, Steve Dunham, William Forster, Neil Humphreys, Dick Peacock, Herbert Richwine, and Michael Testerman. They also discussed ways to have a more economical future meeting in northern Virginia and passed a resolution commending the high caliber of the speakers at the meeting.

The board elected the following officers: Michael Testerman, president; Jim Churchill, executive vice president; Dick Peacock, secretary; Herbert Richwine, treasurer; and Allan Carpenter, assistant treasurer.